White on white

Yesterday afternoon I woke up from my nap (don’t laugh when your 34 years old starting the day at 4 a.m. is not as easy as it used to be) I looked out my window only to find a steady torrent of some of the largest snowflakes tumbling out the sky that I have ever seen. Big. Wet. Mushy. Perfect, especially after the driveway has just been cleared. I don’t have the exact stats on how many inches fell, but it was enough to have me fascinated and joyful. I figured since the day had begun with photos why not end it that way too. Normally I am do not use a flash when photographing scenics. However, as there are exceptions to every rule last night I popped on the flash before heading out to try to capture the snowfall.

Happenstance

Of all the pictures I took that night, this one is my favorite. Photography is my profession. I love it and I have spent years acquiring the skills, training, and technology that go into making images that make me proud. But there is no amount of preparation, no amount of forethought, no amount of planning that can override the blessing of blind luck. I didn’t plan this shot. I really don’t even know how it happened. I was trying to blur the tallest pine tees in the background and focus on the falling crystals closest to my lens. It didn’t work the way I expected it to, but that is not to say it didn’t work. I have these created this ghostly images that I like to look at. Will I ever be able to recreate it? Who knows, but it will be fun to try this again with the next snowfall.

Leave a Reply

